SDMIMD Foundation Day Lecture 2019

The Foundation Day lecture at SDMIMD is an event to commemorate the founding of the Institute 25 years back. Year after year, we have been having distinguished speakers who have made a mark on society as the speaker for this occasion.
This year’s Foundation Day Lecture is special as SDMIMD will be celebrating its 25th Year of inception. The Silver Jubilee Foundation Day Lecture 2018 will be delivered by Indian space scientist K. Radhakrishnan, Former Director, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).  The event will be held at 11 am on 19th July 2019 in the Institute campus

In yesteryears, Dr Devi Shetty, Founder and Chairman of Narayana Hrudayala, Dr Harish Hande, Ramon Magsaysay Award Winner, Co-founder & Managing Director of Solar Electric Light Company (SELCO) Pvt. Ltd.; Mr Sivakumar, Group-Head, Agri & IT Businesses, ITC Group; Mr Vivek Kulkarni, IAS (Retd.) & Founder – Brickwork Group; Mr T.S. Krishnamurthy, Former Chief Election Commissioner, Government of India; Sri. B. Muthuraman, Former Vice Chairman, Tata Steel and Chairman, Tata International;  have given talks as part of Foundation Day.

Speaker Profile

Dr. Koppillil Radhakrishnan, is a Technocrat par excellence; a dynamic and result-oriented Manager with very fine personal and inter-personal qualities; an astute Institution-builder with a strategic vision; an able and diligent Administrator with a positive attitude; and an inspiring Leader with a rather rare skill of nurturing leadership in the younger generation.

Dr. Radhakrishnan was born on August 29, 1949 at Irinjalakuda, Kerala. He graduated in Electrical Engineering from Kerala University (1970), completed his PGDM from Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore (1976) and obtained Doctorate for his thesis titled “Some Strategies for Indian Earth Observation System” from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (2000). He is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Science (FNASc), Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE); Honorary Life Fellow of The Institution of Engineers, India; Honorary Fellow of The Institution of Electrical and Telecommunication Engineers, India; and Member of International Academy of Astronautics.
Starting his career as an Avionics Engineer in Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, he held several decisive positions in ISRO in the domains of space launch systems, space applications and space programme management. He had commendably held the post of Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, the lead centre for launch vehicle technology in ISRO and Director, National Remote Sensing Agency. In his brief stint (2000-2005) in the Ministry of Earth Sciences, he had also been the Founder Director of Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) and the first Project Director of Indian National Tsunami Warning System. He also held several important positions at the international level including Vice Chairman of Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (2001-05), Founder Chairman of Indian Ocean Global Ocean Observing System (2001-06) and Chairman of the Working Group of the Whole UN-COPUOS STSC (2008-2009).
Since October 2009, Indian Space Programme have carried the signatures of the strong leadership of Dr. Radhakrishnan with focussed thrust towards (a) space applications for societal services and national imperatives; (b) creation, management and sustenance capability and capacity for space systems; (d) undertaking new and path-breaking missions (e) development of several critical technologies ; and most importantly (f) ensuring synergy of 16,000 strong ISRO Team with Indian Industry, Academia, User community and several National R&D Laboratories.